AI converts engineering to a specification problem

The software development paradigm shift people are missing

Darren Broemmer
5 min readJun 30, 2023

Artificial intelligence (AI) is rapidly changing the software industry, and software engineers need to be prepared for the changes. In this article, I’ll discuss how AI is changing the way we code and what software engineers need to do to stay ahead of the curve.

I suspect that many software engineers underestimate the power of AI in coding. I did this for a while.

But then I decided to try a few of the tools. First ChatGPT, and then Bard. I tried Bing as well. My experience across all three of these tools was the same.

I found that AI made me a much more productive coder.

I have 28 years of experience as a software engineer, architect, and manager. I did not expect this. Nonetheless, my experience coding with AI altered my view. Coding with AI is simply much faster. It makes you more productive.

  • If you are a junior software engineer, AI can help accelerate your growth and productivity.
  • If you are a senior engineer, it is important to understand that AI is not a fad. It will not fade away like many other trends.

--

--

Darren Broemmer

I write weekly on puzzles, science, and technology. Technologist, published author, ex-BigTech, indie publisher.